Top Oil Schools Junior Cup

Top Oil Schools Junior Cup

CBS Roscommon 15 St Josephs The Bish Galway 0

CBS Roscommon have qualified for the Final of the Top Oil Junior Schools Cup on Wednesday 18th of March in the Sportsground in Galway after a 15 points to 0 win over The Bish in Creggs last Tuesday afternoon.

Played in perfect conditions this was a real battle and the score was right in doubt right up until 10 minutes from the end. Both forwards had periods of dominance and it was probably the superior defensive effort by the CBS boys that won on the day.

The Bish had the better of the opening 10 minutes and only for last ditch tackles by Rian Biesty on one occasion and Tim Lambe shortly afterwards kept the Galway side out in the early stages. CBS eventually grew into the game and started to play for territory and excellent work up front from James Brandon, Killian Higgins, Ian Conlon, John Martin and Patrick Fannon had CBS down near the opposition line for a sustained period of pressure and after a series of penalties CBS eventually went over in the corner when after 20 minutes Daire Byrne dived over for a try which was converted by Shane Purcell from the sideline to open a 7-0 lead. CBS continued to trouble the Bish and went back on the attack, and were unlucky not to add to their tally before the half time but a series of last ditch tackles and a couple of poor decisions kept the score at 7-0 at half time.

CBS continued to attack in the second half and were now moving the ball wider and Niall Cunniffe, Cian Gately and Ben McGahon were now getting their hands on the ball and causing trouble for their opponents. 7 minutes into the second half CBS increased their lead after good work from Melvin Conteh and Eoghan Coyle brought CBS into their opponents half and when CBS were awarded a 5 metre scrum, James Brandon picked and fed Jason Hoare who dived over to bring the score to 12-0.

The Bish now needed the next score and they took the ball on through their forwards in an attempt to get back into the game. They gained a foothold in the CBS 22” and were awarded a number of penalties before CBS were eventually awarded a yellow card to second row Rian Biesty , however the CBS defence remained solid and it was they who went up the other end of the pitch and stretched their lead during this sin binning when Shane Purcell landed a penalty from 25 metres to stretch the lead to 15-0.

With 8 minutes now remaining The Bish again went in search of a score and again some indiscipline at the breakdown from CBS allowed The Bish gain territory in the CBS 22”. Gavin Carberry and Cormac Miley were introduced by CBS and were doing very well in defence to hold out the sustained wave of attacks. CBS played the last 5 minutes with 14 men after Melvin Conteh was yellow carded for hands at the ruck, however the CBS boys managed to keep their opponents out and held out for the victory.

CBS will now contest their second consecutive final and hope to go one step further than last year after losing the Final in 2014 to St Geralds of Castlebar in a thrilling final

CBS: Melvin Conteh, Anthony Stewart, Gavin Carberry, Ian Conlon, James Brandon, Eoghan Coyle, Shane Purcell, Jason Hoare, Niall Cunniffe, Cian Gately, Rian Biesty, Killian Higgins, Daire Byrne, Dylan Horan, Cian Dolan, John Martin, Tim Lambe, Rory Cunningham, Ben McGahon, Sean Hanly, Patrick Fannon, Thomas Hanly, Michael Hanly, Conor Rohan, Cormac Miley, Baryl Kahn.
CBS Junior Premier League winners (1) (2)

Top Oil Schools Junior Cup
Scroll to top