CBS Roscommon Rugby blaze trail through Senior Cup

CBS Roscommon Rugby blaze trail through Senior Cup

CBS Roscommon 39, Sligo Grammar 7.

CBS Roscommon senior rugby team continued their impressive start to the Top Oil Connacht Schools Senior Cup, with a comprehensive win over Sligo Grammar. The latest win coming only a week after a hard-fought away victory over the Connacht Senior League Finalists, Marist College, Athlone.

CBS Roscommon Senior Rugby team who beat Sligo Grammar 39-07 in the Connacht Schools Senior Cup in Creggs RFC last Wednesday.

CBS opted to play against the wind in the opening half, with the opening minutes a cagey affair as bout teams sought to get to grips with their opponents.

CBS began to dominate territory with strong carries from Jack Keegan and an excellent kick in behind the defense from Michael Dunne put Grammar on the back foot. Under intense pressure, Grammar conceded a penalty for hands in the ruck which Mark Purcell duly converted from in front of the posts on the seventh minute.

Directly after the restart, CBS again threatened the Grammar try line with Tom Farrell winning some big collisions and quick feet from Tim Lambe gaining valuable meters. A darting run from the base of a ruck resulted in a try by scrum half Aodha Hession, with Mark Purcell adding the conversion from the touchline. That left the score at 12 – 0, and it was just rewards for CBS opening 12 minutes work.

It was CBS turn to come under some sustained pressure as a powerful attacking drive by Sligo Grammar asked questions from the CBS defense. The attack looked to be repelled by dominant tackling by John McDonnell, John Martin and Tim Lambe, however, Sligo Grammar finally found a gap and got what would turn out to be their only try and conversion of the game in the 14th minute.

Any danger of a momentum swing in favor of Grammar were thwarted as explosive carries from Michael Dunne and Jack Keegan set up Aodha Hession for his second try on the 28th minute. The extras were again added by Mark Purcell from the touch line.

CBS were now in the driving seat and brilliant dummies by Tim Lambe led to a hat trick by Aodha Hession, this time a solo effort as he turned the defender inside out after a line break. Spirits were high for the home side as the first-half finished with a score of 25 – 7 in favor of CBS.

The second half resumed as Grammar attempted to get themselves back in the game with some good phase play. However, their good work was halted by a penalty forced by a supremely organised CBS defense which Mark Purcell put perfectly into touch.

The screw was turned as an excellent kick to the corner by Tim Lambe was chased brilliantly by Ryan O’Keefe and Tom Farrell who bundled the covering Grammar defender over the touch line. CBS secured the resulting line out, and quick handling skills gave Tim Lambe the half meter he needed to demonstrate his supreme footwork as he swept through Sligo Grammar defense and dotted down in the corner.

With the bonus point secured, Purcell kept the score board ticking for the CBS with two further penalties, and a 5th try was nearly added as the impressive Tom Farrell was held up on the 48th minute. With the score now at 39-7, CBS saw out the remainder of the game playing for territory deep in the Grammar half.

Overall, it was a brilliant team performance from the CBS who can now look forward to a home semi-final against Colaiste Iognáid from Galway in about 4 weeks time.

Well done to the CBS coaching team of Eimhin Griffith and Patrick O’Farrell can be very satisfied with their team’s display and on this performance they can have legitimate ambitions to get to a Cup final.

A special mention to Dave Purcell and all the coaches at Creggs Rugby that have been associated with practically all of these young men back from mini rugby days and through various club youth rugby age-groups. We look forward to seeing these lads and boys and girls from other schools in our region playing for Creggs RFC teams for many years to come.

C.B.S. Roscommon Senior Panel: 1. Tom Farrell 2. Roddie McGuinness 3. Jack Tucker 4. Conor Rohan 5. Lorcan Maher 6. John McDonnell 7. John Martin 8. Jack Keegan 9. Aodha Hession 10. Tim Lambe 11. Colin Walsh 12. Mark Purcell 13. Cian Glennon 14. Ryan O’Keefe 15. Michael Dunne, 16. Ronan Lambe 17. Conor McNulty Cleary 18. Anthony Stewart (for Jack Tucker) 19. Eric O’Doherty 20. Amaury Duarte (for Jack Keegan), 21. Kaylem Holian (for Colin Walsh). 22 Aaron Lyons (for Tim Lambe).

CBS Roscommon Rugby blaze trail through Senior Cup
Scroll to top