CBS come out Top in Local Derby:

CBS come out Top in Local Derby:

CBS Roscommon 15 Scoil Mhuire Ballygar 3

CBS Roscommon and Colaiste Mhuire Ballygar played was a very competitive local Derby in the Junior Development Cup in Creggs last Friday Morning. The conditions were not easy for either side but they must be commended on how both sides tried to move the ball wide at every opportunity. This was a match where players knew each other well as many involved play rugby for Creggs U15 and Creggs U16’s but it is sign of the development of the game in this region that there were a number of players on show who would not have taken up the game until quite recently.

This truly was a competitive but fair cup game and it was CBS who opted to play with the wind in the first half. They took full advantage of this after 10 minutes when some great work upfront by James Regan, Brian Collins, James Fetherstone and John Murray and when james McNally moved the ball to the blind side, Brian Diffley beat the defender to score in the corner. CBS continued to use the wind and keep their opponents in their own half and 20 minutes in they increased their advantage when again good work up front by Dylan Ward, Sean Doorly and Edward Clinton gave good ball to their backs and Michael Farrell moved it wide and great play from Conor Shanagher and Adam Whyte saw Richard Hughes go over in the corner to leave the score 10-0. Just before half time CBS got a crucial score when Brian Collins disrupted a Ballygar Lineout and Michael Feely was first to react to touch down to leave the half time score 15-0.

With the elements, this was always going to be a game of two halves and Ballygar playing with the elements set up camp in the CBS half of the pitch at the start of the second half, Up front Simon Spain, Alexander Strek, Robbie Daly and Andrew Clarke were doing well and in the backs Shane Dowd was orchestrating things from 10 with Kevin Gavin and Emmett Naughton were prominent out in the backline. The CBS defence held firm for the first 10 minutes of this half and this was crucial to the overall result as you could see the CBS confidence growing and you felt as an early score for Ballygar would have swung the momentum. With 17 minutes on the clock in the second half, CBS were penalised for offside at the breakdown and Kevin Gavin kicked the points to leave the score 15-3.

CBS gained territory for the last 10 minutes of the game and both sides continued to give their all until the final whistle blew with a final score of CBS Roscommon 15 Scoil Mhuire Ballygar 3.

CBS Roscommon; John Murray, James Fetherstone, Michael feeley, Brian Diffley, Brian Collins, Dylan Ward, Conor Shanagher, Adam Whyte, Aaron Langan, Oisin Lyons, Conor McNeill, Theo McGuinness, Eran Farrell, Richard Hughes, Kyle Hoare, Sean Corcoran, James McNally, Antonio Dos Santos, James Regan, Sean Dorley, Edward Clinton, James Brandon, Shane Purcell, Michael Farrell, Melvin Conteh, Niall Cunniffe.

Colaiste Mhuire Ballygar. Thomas Clayton, Duirmuid McDermott, Emmett Naughton, Kevin Gavin, Alan Hevehan, Shane Dowd, Mark Ward, Simon Spain, Alexander Strek, John Meegan, Robbie Daly, Andrew Clarke, Dylan Morris, Conor Gore, Donal Kelly, Brian Lawlor, John Galvin, Daire McCormack, Keith Gordon, Mathew Browne, Michael Kelly.

CBS come out Top in Local Derby:
Scroll to top