Creggs RFC 25 Ballinasloe RFC 14

Creggs RFC 25 Ballinasloe RFC 14

Creggs U15’s continued their recent good form by beating Ballinasloe in the U15 League in Creggs last Friday night on a scoreline of 25-14..

Ballinasloe started the game brightly and got the first score if the game after 5 minutes which was converted to give them a 7-0 lead. Creggs then began to play rugby in the opposition territory and were awared with a penalty after 12 minutes which Shane Purcell converted to leave the scoreline 7-3. Creggs continued to press and were unlucky when Niall Cunniffe chased a kick through by Ronan Dowd and had beaten the cover only for the ball to bounce away from him at the last minute when a score looked likely.

Creggs continued to press and after being awarded a scrum 15 metres out they moved the ball from the base of the scrum and created space from a looped pass for James Brandon to run in for a try which Ronan Dowd converted.

In the second half Creggs extended their lead when James Brandon intercepted a pass and ran 50 metres to score which Shane Purcell converted leaving the score 17-7. Creggs followed this quickly by taking another 3 points after Ronan Dowd converted a penalty leaving the score 20-7.

After 17 minutes, Ballinasloe on their only incursion to the Creggs 22″ of the half and used their very big forwards to gain good yardage and they were awarded with a try and conversion to leave the score 20-14.

Creggs finished the game very well and were unlucky on two occasions before they used their back line and Shane Purcell and Adam Canny released Niall Cunniffe to score in the corner leaving the score 25-14.

Creggs continue their league campaign at home to Galwegians next Sunday .

Creggs: Ian Conlon, Danny Arnold, Melvin Conteh, Brian Maloney, Brandon Hanmore, David O Gorman, Aaron Glennon, Michael Brandon, Thomas Hester, James Brandon, Adam Finnerty, Brian Maloney, Eoghan Coyle, Ronan Dowd, Shane Purcell, Niall Cunniffe, Cian Gately, Reece Gilligan, Adam Canny, Padraic Gaffey, Dylan Crehan, Jason Hoare

Creggs RFC 25 Ballinasloe RFC 14
Scroll to top